SIB Day

It was one of THOSE days.  A late winter snowfall and multiple days of temperatures below freezing finally incensed me enough to do something about the pileup downstairs.  So at about 8 a.m. the “Sorting in the Basement” regimen began.

It was a crap shoot as to where to begin.  Bins or boxes first?  Left or right side?  Our stuff or our kids’ stuff?  They’ve told me they have all they want, but I know as soon as I give it to Goodwill, one will ask, “Mom, do you know what happened to my…?”

It was safe to start with our woodcrafting material.  We probably have 50 different historical models, all of which have leftover parts, so they started going in separate, labeled boxes.  It was a situation when we’d finished with one design and started on another, and didn’t quite get them filed correctly.  Theodore Roosevelt’s cabin, Indiana schoolhouse, Native American chief’s house, general store, Christmas ornaments, and so on.

Then (again) I got into my school leftovers.  After teaching hands-on projects in elementary classrooms for 25 years, I accumulated a wagon load of materials.  When I retired I gave much of it away.  But my grandchildren (right?) might want to have the inside scoop on how to remember art in Colonial America, so I can’t give up the scherinschnitz lesson, or the marbled paper.  I have Math and Science manipulatives, and still lots of books.

A cousin in another state just put out an SOS for books for her classroom library.  Bingo!  Filled a corrugated box full and wrapped it in packing tape.  My readalouds are on their way to a good home.

When your paper trail gets to be too much, do you ever put it in boxes to look at later?  I sorted through that stuff.  Half gone.  And Christmas wrapping paper and cards – put away in the underbed bin or trashed (Why do I keep smashed bows and wrinkled tissue paper?)

 

Behind the scenes life of a craft blogger. Boxes, boxes everywhere! CraftsnCoffee.com.

http://www.craftsncoffee.com  Not our basement, but you get the idea.  When we get it transformed into a media center for the old VHS tapes, I might take a picture.

General history memorabilia occupies another big department in our basement.  When we go on trips, we take lots of photographs.  Lately, they’ve been stored on our phones, but for the first 30 years of our marriage we took and printed them en masse, also foraging pamphlets and small, interesting souveniers.  It sure adds up.  This doesn’t include family history ephemera, which now occupies a large trunk in our living room.  That was the big job last year.

Of course I had to stop in the middle of the day to write this blog because I was so proud of myself.  Will I complete the initiative?  Already I’m thinking about PIG Day (Purging in the Garage).  But that will wait for warmer weather.  Maybe we’ll celebrate by grilling hot dogs.

One thought on “SIB Day

  1. Enjoyed this — we really are kindred spirits! I, too, still have quite a bit of my teaching stuff. Several “units” I just can’t part with. Thought I’d use a lot of it with my own kids, but then life got busy and … Yep too on the manipulatives. So many cute little bears 🙂 Lots of travel brochures too. I go through them every so often, but they’re so pretty, I hate to throw them away. Sure, I could look online too, but there’s something about holding the paper. I don’t like hearing that about the kids leaving a bunch at your house — yet I know that is coming here, too. You had a really productive morning! Now yes, I’d love to see photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

